Surfer Blood

1 03 2010

Finally, finally, everydaymusic is back. We’ve been gone for three weeks, and I’d like to apologize for that. The good news is I’ve been able to discover bunches of music over that time. I’ve had like 5 or 6 different artists send in submissions through e-mail, which is awesome. Remember, if you’re an artist, feel free to submit your music. Today, it’s a catchy pop-rock group from West Palm Beach. They’re called Surfer Blood, and they sound like Vampire Weekend went to the beach.

One of my roommates introduced me to Surfer Blood a few days ago. He liked them so much he went and downloaded their album off of Amazon. That’s true dedication. He then gave it to me to listen to, and I must say, I was very impressed.

Surfer Blood is an indie-pop act out of West Palm Beach, Florida. Their first album is called Astro Coast. They have nice, fat bass guitar sounds in some of their songs. That reminds me a lot of that old surf rock stuff, which works nicely with their name. Surfer Blood’s melodies, riffs, chord progressions, etc. are always really interesting, not to mention catchy, slightly reminding me of The Slip. Vocally, I can totally detect a Shins-y feel.

Floating Vibes”, “Anchorage”, and “Take it Easy” are a few good songs off of what was surprisingly a really solid album. “Take it Easy” is the one that sounds like Vampire Weekend went to the beach. Honestly, I didn’t expect much out of this group initially, but after listening to this album, I’m expecting a lot of hype over the coming months. They definitely deserve it.

Either way, download Astro Coast. It’s a brilliant album, that deserves all the praise it gets. You can find it on Amazon, if you want to buy it (the mp3 version of the album is only 5 bucks!), but you can also listen to the album in full, for free, on Last.fm. There’re four tracks up on the MySpace if you’re still in 2003. Whatever you do, hurry up and hop on the Surfer Blood bandwagon. It’s about to take off.


Actions

Information

One response

1 03 2010
Snob?

firstly you missed a great chance for a sailing related pun at the end.
secondly, surfer blood blew up on the internet before christmas even so stay up to date or stay away.
other than that i have liked what i have read on here.

Leave a comment