The Expendables

3 02 2010

Today, Chris returns, and in honor of his birthday, gives us a column. Ever since he started real life, they’ve been few and far between. It’s the Expendables. Hmmm…

So, it’s been awhile. This semester I started school at UNF; I’m playing lacrosse and pledging Sigma Chi, so I literally do not have a free weeknight to ramble sarcastically about hipsters and the melodies that get them off. Last night, Alexei called and asked me to do an article, so I said yes, and then I forgot. It’s the next afternoon. Man, why would you name a blog everyday anything? Titles should not be so obligatory.

I’ve spent the past month listening to Pitchfork’s Top 10 of 2009, which I had planned on giving a full report on, but I’ll save us both the trouble – Phoenix’s Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix is by far the best of the favorite ten, and Animal Collective’s Merriweather Post Pavillion is awesome to fall asleep too, but still mad overrated. As far as I can tell, Pitchfork isn’t the least bit concerned with what sounds good, they simply care about what sounds different. Fever Ray is worth checking out if you trip a lot, Girls if scratchy vocals and cacophonous tunes are your thing, and by all mean listen to Raekwon if you have low standards for hip-hop (most people do).

Anyway, since the Top 10 article is now just an intro paragraph, I’m gonna talk about a band I’ve barely listened to but thus far I enjoy. Their name is The Expendables, and they’re out of Santa Cruz, California. They’ve been together for 13 years, have four albums no one (sans stoners and the west coast) has heard of, and are great chill music. One of their songs, “Sacrifice”, is a playable song in Guitar Hero World Tour, so if you like pretending to be a rock star, hit that up. In 2003 they briefly had their own radio show; I don’t know anything about it, it probably wasn’t too successful. They’re currently at work on their 5th studio album, which is likely code for “smoking tons of weed and jamming out”.

But what do they sound like? Well, The Expendables span a few subgenres, combining elements of ska, reggae, and surf-rock, which I didn’t even know was a type of music. They’ve toured extensively with bands such as 311, Pepper, Kottonmouth Kings, and Less Than Jake; they’re also signed to Slightly Stoopid’s record label, Stoopid Records. Top listeners on Last.fm include lovestosmoke and General420. Get it yet?


Sorry for the lack of insight, dedication, yadda, blah, etc. and so forth. Not going to proofread either. I’ve staked out an awesome spot in the Thomas G. Carpenter library and am getting my study on hardcore. Go listen to music.


Actions

Information

4 responses

3 02 2010
Peachy

Now THIS is a music blog!
Bahahahaha

4 02 2010
Matt

Great article, I love these guys….Good choice in music!

5 02 2010
Sarah

i love these guys too! i’m checkin out their winter blackout tour in a few weeks, super stoked!! :)

8 02 2010
valerie

the expendables fucking rock.

Leave a comment