Blind Pilot

3 12 2009

What’s the worst thing to have on an airplane? A Blind Pilot! As well as over 3 oz. of liquid. That was terrible. Here’s Chris talking about Blind Pilot.

Yo everybody, let me level with you. I don’t really feel like writing tonight. I’m gonna do it anyway, because the name of the blog sort of dictates that I do so. But I won’t be happy about it, and I refuse to put in a respectable effort. That being said, today I’m talking about an indie band from Portland, Oregon. So, now that I’ve narrowed it down to either Modest Mouse, The Dandy Warhols, The Shins, The Decemberists, or Elliott Smith, which will it be? Well, it’s none of them. It’s a band called Blind Pilot. See what I did there? Gotcha, bitch!

Blind Pilot started out as two people: Isreal Nebeker on acoustic guitar and Ryan Dobrowski behind the drums. Both are avid cyclists, so before recording their first album, they toured the west coast on their bicycles, lugging the instruments in custom-built bike trailers. Then they did it again after they released their first album, 3 Rounds And A Sound. Why haven’t I moved out west yet?

In 2009, however, they put together a full size band to better match their album while touring, and opened for The Decemberists on a national tour. They also played at Lollapalooza (and likely a host of other hippie degenerate festivals). Good for them. But what does that mean for you?

It means you need to start listening to them now, so that when they’re a notorious indie staple, you can be the best Pretentious Hipster Douchebag Who Listened To Them Before Everyone Else you can be.  I’ll do you a solid and start you off with some songs, but just remember – you owe me. Big. The band is most well known for the single “Go On, Say It“, which is a good tune. But my favorites are “The Story I Heard“, “One Red Thread“, and the title track, “3 Rounds And A Sound“. You can’t go wrong with any of the songs, really, but a lot of them sound too similar and begin to blend together. But if it’s the type of music you’re into, it’s probably a good thing. Anyway, the band is Blind Pilot, check them out and thank me later. Or now. Now’s good too.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

