Dela

30 11 2009

I suffered a major tragedy this weekend. After spending the whole week getting album art for every album in my iTunes library (750+ albums), I accidentally deleted my entire iTunes library. Yep. Every song. And yes, I already checked my recycle bin. I think I’ve figured out a way to fix it, but it’s still a pain. So, to ease my pain, here’s a smooth producer by the name of Dela.

Dela is a producer who, I’m fairly sure, is out of Montreal. Montreal is a dope city with a dope music scene, so it only makes sense that it would produce an equally dope producer. The dude’s got some serious jazz influence flowin through his veins and a head for hip hop. He’s quite a listen, and guess where I found him… yep… last.fm.

Officially, this isn’t a last.fm pitch blog, but it might as well be. “La Bonne Attitude” is my favorite track that’s up on last.fm. It’s great for freestyling to or for just relaxing to. On Dela’s MySpace, there are some great tracks, which feature artists like Talib Kweli and Blu. You should also check the Soundclick page. There’s a pretty dope “Frontin’” remix.

I really listen to music a lot more than words, so that’s why I’ve been featuring a lot of producers recently. Words just flow in one ear and out the other to me, unless I concentrate. I find music more interesting, the whole process of how it’s made especially, although I’ve gotta say, the right lyrics, delivered in the right way, can really bring out the best in a beat.

In unrelated news, if you’re in Gainesville, you should come out to the UF campus on Wednesday. The Gainesville Hip Hop Collective will be taking over Turlington Plaza from 12:45 PM to 1:00 PM on 2 December. It’s gonna be a 45 minute hip hop jam session like no other. Definitely worth stopping by and checking out. And if you’re not a fan of everydaymusic on Facebook yet… well… shame on you.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

