Hockey

24 11 2009

I’ve spent the past hour and a half finding album art and organizing my iTunes library… and I’m only on E. Time for a break. Today, you get to read about a group from Portland called Hockey. They’re an alternative dance group, like Ratatat and that kinda stuff.

The first time I ever heard Hockey was on last.fm. I sound like a broken record, I know, but that’s just how good last.fm is for finding new music. It’s consistently on the ball. A couple days later, Hockey played on Jimmy Fallon, and it was at that point that I wrote down their name in my everydaymusic calendar. I’m pretty sure I originally had them scheduled for like October 20th or something. Clearly, that didn’t happen, but I’ve finally gotten around to it.

I’m fairly sure that “Too Fake” and “Song Away” are the two singles off of their newest album, Mind Chaos. “Song Away” is my preferred track of the two. I detect hints of Bob Dylan influence in the vocals. “Learn to Lose” is another popular track from Hockey. All of their songs are fairly catchy, but I can’t listen to them for too long, which seems to be the case for me with most groups of their genre.

You can find them on last.fm, MySpace, or at their official site. If you find that you’re really into them, purchase a CD. It’s probably worth it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

