Michael Claytor & His Friends

18 11 2009

Howdy. You should become a fan of everydaymusic on Facebook. Today, I’ve got some local talent to talk about. The group is called Michael Claytor & His Friends. In unrelated news, I’ll be in Phoenix for the next few days, so I think Chris is gonna take over for Thursday and Friday. Uh-oh. Cross your fingers. Things might get out of control.

I first heard of Michael Claytor & His Friends in the Alligator in early October of this year. I read the article about them, and I was immediately excited to hear some of their stuff. I got to the band’s MySpace, where I heard “The New River,” a melancholy, slow, and sweet tune. From the first few lines, I was instantly reminded of The Format’s lead singer, Nate Ruess. Michael Claytor & His Friends definitely have some of the same elements The Format employed, especially in songs such as “Snails.” Combine that with a little bit of a southern, almost-country feel, and you have a catchy combination.

In my eyes, Michael Claytor & His Friends are easily one of the premier sources of talent in the Gainesville area. If the right people hear their music, and they get a few breaks here and there, I could see them gaining substantial notoriety. They definitely play local shows, and from what I’ve seen of them live, they’re really good. Take this video as evidence.

You should support Michael Claytor & His Friends. If you’re on Facebook, you can become a fan of theirs. And then you can buy their first album, 2008’s We Have an Elephant, from DigStation. It’s 10 bucks well-spent. And if you’re a Gainesville resident, go watch them play. According to their Facebook, you can catch them at Flaco’s, every Wednesday at 11:00 PM. I’m sure it’s well worth going. You probably don’t have anything better do on a Wednesday night anyway.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

