Tahiti 80

12 10 2009

I’ve mentioned before that I like foreign bands who choose to sing in English. I think their control of the language is fundamentally different from that of native speakers, making their syntax, diction, etc pretty interesting. Tahiti 80 is one of those bands, and they’re today’s topic.

I first heard of Tahiti 80 through Phoenix Radio on Last.fm. It’s a goldmine. I’m telling you. Sign up. Tahiti 80 has been around since 1993, and they’ve released four albums. I have their two latest releases, Fosbury and Activity Center, released in 2005 and 2008 respectively. They’re super poppy, and according to their Wikipedia, have encountered success in Japan, so they have something in common with sushi… as well as being raw, OOOOHHH! I went there.

Tahiti 80

Tune In” is an awesome song, and probably my favorite by them. I think their lyrics are really fun to listen to, and the music’s super catchy. I like hearing it while walking around campus. Good stuff.

“White Noise” is another exquisite song off that album, but I can’t seem to find a decent version of it anywhere online. “You’re smart as a tortoise stuck in an elevator,” is a particularly awesome line from that song.

You can find five pretty decent tunes on their MySpace. “Heartbeat” is probably my favorite up there. A SadSteve search yields some decent results. Nothing special, though. I’d say the best way to listen to them, is to download Activity Center. I found it available for free.

Download it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

