Perpetual Groove

29 07 2009

I don’t feel like doing a whole review today, so instead, I’m just going to tell you about Perpetual Groove. My buddy told me about them last Friday, and since then, I’ve listened to them quite a bit. I listened to their album Sweet Oblivious Antidote, which was released in January of 2003. Since then, they’ve released two other albums, All This Everything, in September of 2004, and their latest work, LiveLoveDie, in March of 2007, which was produced by a guy who helped produce Outkast’s Speakerboxxx/The Love Below. LiveLoveDie was a much darker and heavier effort from Perpetual Groove, and I don’t like it nearly as much as Sweet Oblivious Antidote.

Perpetual Groove 1

Pgroove consists of four members, who met at SCAD, and they’re based out of Athens, GA. They have an awesome sound that reminds me of Southern rock (Lynyrd Skynyrd, Tom Petty, etc.), combined with some psychedelic jam band and funk influence. They’ve played Bonnaroo in the past, and they are still touring right now. Check out their upcoming tour dates. Their shows seem like they’d be a blast, judging from the type of music they play.

Perpetual Groove 2

You can listen to every song off of the three albums I named above on the Music section of their website (there’s a song called “TSM2” where the vocals have a Tom Petty type sound, if you’re interested), and you can also download some live songs for free at the bottom of that same Music section. As a matter of fact, here’s a little playlist I made out of songs you can listen to and download for free with the help of SadSteve.

1) Three Weeks (the opening track off of Sweet Oblivious Antidote) [Live]

2) Killing in the Name (Rage Against the Machine cover) [Live]

3) Mayday (this is off of LiveLoveDie, you’ll see what I mean with the “heavier sound” thing)

4) America, Fuck Yeah! (from Team America: World Police) [Live]

5) Get Down Tonight (KC and the Sunshine Band cover) [Live]

6) Sundog (this is off of Sweet Oblivious Antidote, great song)

7) Thriller (Michael Jackson cover) [Live]

8) Express Yourself (NWA cover) [Live]

That’s it for today. Enjoy Perpetual Groove!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment