Lil Steve – New Dimension Steezy

17 07 2009

“Spongebob flow, my nonsense is nautical.” Today, it’s Lil Steve with his new mixtape, New Dimension Steezy. I got this mixtape about a week ago, and I’ve listened to it a couple of times. I love the melody and the ornamentation on “Livin in My Mind”, my personal favorite on the mixtape. The formula is a steady one throughout the album, focusing on what’s a pretty poppy sound with lots of synthetic elements. To me, this album is like a combination of an attempt at mainstream production values, while the lyrics have more of an indie flair. The delivery doesn’t always match up with the feel of the songs, in my opinion, but it’s definitely still solid. I think that the Autotune and all the vocal effects take away from the feel of the album, and honestly, it’s kind of overkill. The sound is definitely infectious, but if you get infected with the same sound track after track, you eventually build an immunity. All in all, it’s a good effort from Lil Steve, Tito Beatz, The Hometown Heroes, and everyone else who contributed, but it just seems like they need to build a more mature sound if they want greater success with future recordings.

Support them by downloading the mixtape off of datpiff, for free: http://www.datpiff.com/DJ_Henchman_Tito_Beatz_Unsung_Heroes_Promotions_.m46436.html

Lil Steve - New Dimension Steezy

Interested in learning more about Lil Steve? Hit up http://www.myspace.com/lilstevefromduval, where you can listen to a couple songs that were left off the mixtape.

Hometown Heroes are here: http://www.myspace.com/duvalshometownheroes

and Tito Beatz is right here: http://www.myspace.com/titomakezhitz

Actions

Information

One response

14 08 2009
Tito Beatz « everydaymusic

[…] showcased on Lil Steve’s mixtape that was released about a month ago. I covered it in the August 17th edition of the blog. Like I said, these beats aren’t really my style, and I personally wouldn’t […]

Leave a Reply

